Juvenile Courts (R.S. N.B. 1952, c. 123).—The Juvenile Courts Act provides for the establishment of a juvenile court for each place where the federal Juvenile Delinquents Act is in force. Five judges have been appointed, one for Saint John, one for Fredericton, one for the County of Westmorland, one for the County of Gloucester and one for the County of Restigouche. These courts have jurisdiction in juvenile matters under provincial statutes and are also juvenile courts under the federal Juvenile Delinquents Act.

Magistrates.—Magistrates appointed under the County Magistrates Act (R.S.N.B. 1952, c. 46) exercise their jurisdiction over the county for which they are appointed and may sit anywhere in the county. They have jurisdiction up to \$200 in contract and \$100 in tort. They have absolute criminal jurisdiction. Nine of the 15 counties have county magistrates.

Magistrates appointed under the Local Magistrates Act (R.S.N.B. 1952, c. 137) are appointed for a city, town, village or district, and their jurisdiction is limited to same. They have jurisdiction up to \$80 in contract and \$32 in tort. Only in cities do such magistrates have absolute criminal jurisdiction. In a few cases, magistrates are also appointed under city or town charters.

Quebec.—Court of Queen's Bench.—This Court, established under the Quebec Courts of Justice Act (R.S.Q. 1941, c. 15), has two appellate jurisdictions and one original jurisdiction. It is composed of 12 judges appointed by the Governor General in Council, including a chief justice called the Chief Justice of the Province of Quebec, and has appellate jurisdiction in the civil matters mentioned in Sect. 42 ff. of the Code of Civil Procedure, and appellate jurisdiction concerning convictions on indictments (Sect. 1012 ff. of the Criminal Code).

Presided over by a judge of the Superior Court, the Court of Queen's Bench has original jurisdiction in criminal matters when the accused is committed to stand a trial on an indictment, and appellate jurisdiction in accordance with the provisions of Sect. 749 ff. of the Criminal Code relating to the appeal against summary conviction or against the dismissal of a complaint.

Superior Court.—The Superior Court is a court of record and is composed of a chief justice, an associate chief justice and 40 puisne judges, all of whom are appointed by the Governor General in Council. This Court has general original jurisdiction in all suits or actions that are not exclusively within the jurisdiction of the Circuit Court, the Magistrate's Court or the Exchequer Court of Canada and it has exclusive original jurisdiction in cases of petition of right (Sect. 48 ff. of the Code of Civil Procedure).

Magistrate's Courts.—The Lieutenant-Governor in Council may, by proclamation, establish one or more magistrate's courts in and for each judicial district or electoral district or in and for any place in the Province. These courts are courts of record and, in civil matters, have jurisdiction determined by Sect. 61 ff. of the Code of Civil Procedure. To preside over the said courts, the Lieutenant-Governor in Council may appoint 33 magistrates including a Chief District Magistrate and an Associate Chief District Magistrate.

Social Welfare Courts.—Such courts are established for four districts including Montreal, Quebec, Three Rivers and St. Francis. Nine judges, one of whom is a Chief Justice and all of whom have been appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council, preside over the courts. The courts are authorized to take cognizance